Summer Season

October 9, 2011

Here I am back from my seasonal sabbatical from the blog. A mixture of work commitments, general lack of time and bloggers block left me a bit at sea when it came to posting. However, the winter months seem to bring out the writer in me so here I am again.

So what dating delights, or more aptly disasters, did the summer bring I hear you ask. Well, a few actually. It was a strange time. Dublin has become quite a different place for me over the last few months. As I mentioned in my last post, many of my friends have left for other shores. It’s been an odd period of adjustment. Most of the people closest in my life are no longer here. I’ve had to adapt my social life in tune with these changes. It’s an odd process which is still going on and being honest it can be tough.

Men wise, Dublin is still offering the gems I’ve come to know and not love as the case may be. A mixture of festivals, house parties and general ‘let’s set Julie up’ threw me into random meetings/ drinks/ dinners.

These are some of the nuggets of wisdom I’ve come away with from my summer rendezvous:

1. I can’t (no matter how hard I try) make myself fancy someone

2.I don’t like posh dinner dates

3. Timing is a bitch

4. Kissing in a two man tent is difficult

5.My weakness for musicians/ writers is alive and well

6. I’m not settling for something casual

7.I hate texting power plays

8.If guys are interested, they will put in effort.If they are not, they won’t. No amount of excuses will change that fact

9. Chivalry is not dead. It just hides in funny places sometimes

10.I’m not giving up on the Big Romance

Rather than going into in depth descriptions of each of the guys I met this summer,  I will surmise. There was an unsuccessful set up (lovely guy, just not my cup of tea. My work colleague responsible for the date was more devastated than me), the party encounter with subsequent dates (this one is still a mystery, really handsome guy but I just wasn’t feeling it. It petered out after a while. Probably should have given it more of a chance in hindsight) and the musician (this one hurt a bit, and is still in the raw stages. Note to self: ‘shut up and get over it already. There’s plenty more moderately successful musicians in this town’)

I know this isn’t like my usual posts which are normally of epic proportion but there will be plenty of that to come (hopefully!). Here’s to autumnal heart break…!

One Response to “Summer Season”

  1. Celina said

    “There’s plenty more moderately successful musicians in this town.”

    Never a truer word spoken.

Leave a Reply

