Missed Opportunity

April 17, 2011

This weekend was a blur of birthday celebrations. It’s my twenty-fifth birthday next Wednesday but as many people would be away for Easter weekend, I thought I’d celebrate it this weekend.

I headed out with my work colleagues on Friday night for dinner and drinks after. It was one of those great nights where everyone is in brilliant humour and up for a laugh. As nights like this usually go, people gradually began to drop away from the group as the night wore on.

By the end of the evening, myself and another two work colleagues left. The bar we were in was beginning to wind down and I was getting ready to leave. I had noticed a guy at the bar earlier in the night. He stood out a lot as he was really good-looking. As I was leaving the bar I got chatting to him. The bouncers were asking people to leave so we made our way outside. We were making the usual small talk only for about 15 mins when he mentioned he used to play football for a well known team in England.

Anyone who knows me well will tell you I do not have a clue about anything soccer or indeed sport related. My feigning interest was obviously not enough make him think I was impressed because he decided to whip out his iPhone and wikipedia himself in front of me.

At this stage of the night I was on the ‘brutal honesty’ buzz of drunkenness. I informed the guy that he really didn’t need to produce online evidence to prove to me that he played for a football team. I went on to say that I would have been more impressed if he didn’t mention it at all and then dropped it into conversation after we had had a conversation longer than 15mins. The presence of the iPhone evidence really put me off. He was a really nice guy. He didn’t need to prove his worth on wikipedia.

After I finished my rant, I was pretty sure he’d think I was not the most appealing person in the world and head for the hills. Instead he burst out laughing and asked me was I always that brutally honest.

A group of us headed back to my house and he came along. In my drunken logic head, I had totally written this guy off from the wikipedia moment. Even when he was in my house, I was totally disinterested. Again, he was very pleasant and got on really well with everyone. What was not to like? Sadly, this blogger was ignorant to these facts in the dawning hours and just wanted her bed.

The night resulted in him briefly trying it on and me declining, claiming horrific tiredness as an excuse. Everyone eventually disbursed from the house at about 7am and I got my much sought after sleep.

However, I woke up a few hours later and thought ‘You idiot. A very nice, good-looking, talented guy was interested in you and you could not have acted more uncaring’. I called into my friends house and explained the story. They confirmed the fact that I was indeed an idiot. They did concede that the wikipedia thing was odd but at the same time they pointed out he had more than proved himself in the subsequent hours.

This leaves me pondering the question, why did I sabotage myself in this way? I hate to admit it, but I can see a pattern emerging. I’m often very quick to write guys off. They do something that I find mildly irritating and that’s it, I’m no longer interested. Although the wikipedia searching could have been considered a little conceited, I should have given they guy the benefit of the doubt. Instead, I acted like an uncaring, nonchalant lady who gave the impression I couldn’t care less if he was interested or not.

I could easily see the guy again as he works in the same company as one of my friends. I have a strange feeling the moment has passed with this particular person but for the future, I think I need to reassess how I view potential guys and not be so quick to write someone off.

Leave a comment