An Up-Date

February 7, 2011

It’s a week later and I am no longer sitting waiting in anticipation. I am now sitting in a state of contentment.

If you read last week’s post you will be aware that I met a guy (I’m going to call him The Runner from here on) when I was in a bar and was waiting to hear back from him. I am pleased to say he did get in touch with me the Monday after we met. He was on to a good thing with his opening text which stated ‘ hey julie, how are you. 30 year olds always text’. I liked that, it showed he didn’t take himself too seriously.

We arranged to meet on Saturday night for a drink. It’s a weird feeling getting ready to go on a date with someone you don’t really know. You don’t want to look like you’ve put in loads of effort but at the same time you still want to look relatively attractive. I wore a pair of trousers that one of my good friends (who is a straight girl) said she ‘fancied’ me in so I reckoned they were a good bet for the date. I wore my hair up because the oh so lovely Dublin weather was relentlessly rainy that day. I didn’t want to look like a scruff after my walk to the pub.

I always get a fear when I meet someone again that I randomly met on a night out that I won’t recognize them or that they will be totally different to what I remember from the initial time we met. Luckily neither of these things happened. The Runner was what I had remember him to be and I did recognize him straight away.

The usual first date conversation ensued. I have to admit I was really tired that night. I had been out the night before and it was beginning to catch up on me. I’m usually very good at small talk but I found myself lagging from tiredness. However, I must have put on an alright show because about an hour into the conversation The Runner stated that I was ‘a great talker’ and that his experience was that you usually had to drag conversation out of girls. I took this as a compliment (of sorts!).

Our conversation was unusual in the fact that we are both at totally different stages in our lives. He is saving to buy a house and is content at home. I’m looking forward to traveling at some point  and I am not even near contemplating buying a goldfish, let alone a house.

However, this difference didn’t seem to matter. We both got on very well. He is a lot more confident then I remembered when I first met him and he is really funny. He told me he liked really bad jokes which I actually found quite amusing. Maybe that says more about my crap sense of humor than it does about his bad jokes.

He talked a lot about running. He has been running marathons for years and is planning on taking part in one in Barcelona in the coming weeks. I liked how dedicated he was to the sport. He trained a lot but still seemed to manage to have a social life too which is obviously important.

He really likes cooking which again I really liked about him. I have to admit I am not an accomplished  domestic goddess, in fact I hate cooking. However, I do love eating good food so the fact that he likes making good food is nice.

As I mentioned in my last post, I thought he may have a bit of an issue with tall girls. I brought this up to see what his reaction would be. He argued that he actually likes tall girls, although he isn’t that tall himself. I got the feeling he was trying to be polite with this statement but took him at face value anyway.

I guessed The Runner might be quite a competitive by the way in which he was so involved in sport. This fact was proven to me later on in the night. The runner went to the toilet and I was left alone sitting at the bar on my iphone. A guy came up and starting chatting to me about the iphone. I felt quite uncomfortable at this as I didn’t want it to look like I was off chatting to other guys while The Runner’s back was turned.

He came back from the toilet and was visibly not impressed. In fairness, the guy who was chatting to me totally insulted him by commenting on the fact that he was drinking a spirit which was a girls drink in his opinion. This did not go down well with The Runner at all. The guy sloped off back to his group and we continued our conversation. After a while The Runner suggested we go somewhere else as the pub we were in was jammed at this stage.

We went across the road for one more drink but we were both waning with tiredness by this time. We decided to call it a night at about 1am. When we left the pub it was teeming with rain so we both had umbrellas up. The umbrella situation made it very difficult to have any type of goodbye kiss. Also, we were standing in the middle of a really busy street. It just didn’t feel right to launch into kissing someone right there and then. As before, he politely gave me a kiss on the cheek and we said our goodbyes.

Walking home I weighed up the evening in my head. He was a really nice guy. He was very genuine  and funny and although there was a significant age gap between the two of us, that made little difference to our conversation. I thought about how I portrayed myself throughout the evening and came to the conclusion that often in situations like that, I talk myself down a lot. He noticed this and pointed it out by asking me to name three things which I liked about myself. I thought that was sweet.

All in all, we got on really well. I’m not going to say there were fireworks. There weren’t but I think in a realistic situation there never really are at the start. You meet someone who you get on quite well with and then it may or may not build from there. I’d like to see him again to see what way things could go. I’m still not sure it will be a fireworks situation but I’m willing to try and find out.

Leave a Reply

